Atlas Missile Silo

Atlas D Complexes

The D series of Atlas missile complexes were the first type of Atlas ICBM bases to be built.  The Atlas D missile complex consisted of three above ground launch facilities and a centralized Launch Control Center.  There were 7 Atlas D complexes built along with two test sites at Vandenberg AFB.  The Air Force established three Atlas D squadrons, each of which supported three missile site complexes.  The exception to this was the 564th SMS located in Cheyenne, Wyoming.  The 564th consisted of six launchers and two Launch Control Centers in a "3 plus 3, back-to-back" configuration.  Please click on the patch or link of your choice to learn more details about that particular squadron.

     549th SMS,  Offutt Air Force Base,  Omaha, Nebraska

    564th SMS,  F. E. Warren Air Force Base, Cheyenne, Wyoming

    565th SMS,  F. E. Warren Air Force Base, Cheyenne, Wyoming

Please contact us if you have any questions or comments about this web.
Copyright © 2002-2016       All Rights Reserved.